The Public Safety Records Section is staffed by five civilian employees, supervised by the Training and Standards Sergeant. The records section handle duties ranging from greeting citizens at the front desk, answering the business telephone lines, fingerprinting citizens for work, travel and other purposes and compiling official police and fire department records and statistics.
Copies of your police, fire or accident reports can be obtained during regular business hours.
The Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) is the Federal law that provides access to public records, except for those protected from disclosure under the Act. To request records under this act, please complete the FOIA Request for Police and Fire Records form and return it the Novi Police Department or call the records section at 248-347-0510.
Citizens may purchase copies of accident reports online on the CLEMIS website (Oakland County's Courts and Law Enforcement Management Information System). All insurance companies must purchase accident reports through CLEMIS.
Handgun Purchase Permits/Registrations:
If purchasing a handgun from a private individual, a purchase permit can be obtained from the records section during normal business hours. If you have purchased a handgun from a business or individual with a Federal Firearm License (FFL), the completed pistol sales record can be dropped off at the front desk 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
It is no longer required to bring your weapon in for inspection.
Concealed Pistol License (CPL):
A CPL packet can be obtained at the Novi Police Department, Oakland County Sheriff’s Office or the County Clerk Office. A complete CPL process may take from 3 to 6 months.
The Novi Police Department records section assists residents and non-residents with fingerprinting citizens for work, travel and other purposes. Fingerprinting is done during normal business hours.
Ink Fingerprints (up to three cards)
Novi Residents: $20.00
Livescan (electronic prints, Michigan only)
Novi residents and non-residents: $72.00
Must have paperwork with an agency ID number on it.
To claim your vehicle, you must bring proof of ownership (registration or title) and identification. Release forms can be obtained at the front desk 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
Note: If the vehicle was impounded as a result of an arrest, a $20 fee will be imposed to release the vehicle.
Personal Protection Orders (PPO):
Personal Protection Orders (PPO) can be obtained from the County Circuit Court.
False Alarm Billing:
Novi Ordinance 22-36 prescribes penalty’s for excessive false alarms per calendar year. The penalty for excessing false alarms are:
- First 2 false alarms occurring within a one year period - no penalty
- Third false alarm occurring within a one year period - $50.00
- Fourth false alarm occurring within a one year period - $75.00
- Fifth false alarm occurring within a one year period - $100.00
- Sixth and subsequent false alarms occurring within a one year period - $190.00
Criminal background checks:
Come into the office with a driver's license or state I.D. We will check to see if you've ever been arrested by Novi and will provide you with a letter stating the results. There is a $10 per person charge for this service. If you need a more extensive search, please contact the Michigan State Police.
If there is anything the Public Safety Records Section can help you with, please call 248-348-7100 or Sergeant Brian K. Woloski at 248-347-0572